Training Recap for March 6-12, 2017

Heart rate training. I’m committed. As painful as it is to run slowly, I am doing this for the long haul. And by long haul, I mean until until it stops working. So far, I can say I have made some progress in my races times (I will post my Under Armour KELLY St. Patrick’s Day Shamrock 5K race recap tomorrow).

Here is what my week looked like:

Monday:  1 hour on the recumbent bike [116 bpm avg HR]

+ Arms and Chest lifting

Tuesday: 10 min warmup, 1 min sprint (7.5), 1 minute recover (5.0), 5 min cooldown (1% incline) on tread mill; [12:26 min/mi avg pace, 161 bpm avg HR]

+ Back and Biceps lifting

Wednesday: Rest (Was traveling for business—perfect opportunity for a rest day)

Thursday: 40 min easy (3.61m) outdoors [11:09 min/mi avg pace, 158 bpm avg HR)

Looked a little like this:

training run elevation

HR Thursday

Training run pace

(Aww, look how pretty a filter makes me look. Take away the lighting and add some more sweat…)

Friday: 10 min warm up, ½ mi at 5k pace (7.0mph), ¼ mi cooldown (varied, but usually around 5.0 mph), 5 min cooldown on treadmill (1% incline) [11:18 min/mi avg pace, 172 bpm avg HR]

+ Legs, Shoulders and Abs lifting

Saturday: 30 min easy (2.7m) outdoors [11:11 min/mi avg pace, 157 bpm avg HR]

Saturday looked a little like this:

elevation Saturday

HR Saturday

(I think I paused my garmin, but can’t remember why around 18mins)

Sunday: St. Patrick’s Shamrock 5k

And that wrapped up my week. Husband has a work trip, so we went to his favorite Mexican restaurant and treated himself to a couple pineapple chipotle margaritas. I was the driver, so I just had a soda but I DID indulge on some queso dip. SO. GOOD.

Leave a Reply

