Weekend Highlights

I feel like time has been flying lately. I think a lot of it has to do with being so busy at work… I get in at 8:30 and DO NOT STOP working until at least 5. And yes, that includes eating at my desk while reviewing documents for work. Welcome to my life for the next 2+ years. I actually feel like I’m starting to enjoy my job, stress and all. The hours are not too bad, the travel is tedious but I’m glad to get out of my office. And the location is pretty good. It’s nice being able to get to a few major cities within an hour of driving. What I DON’T like is the lack of daily mass nearby during lunch hours. It used to be my routine to go to mass at lunch every day, but the closest Church only offer lunch hour Mass on Tuesdays and Thursdays… and even that schedule is intermittent (depending on when the Priest is actually available). But I can’t complain. Being here offers me amazing, fun filled weekends like the one I just had.

Let’s start with Friday. We got off early at work (WOO!!) and I took advantage of it! Fiance and I got ready and headed down to Baltimore in the early afternoon. After all my travel for work, I was able to use rewards points from IHG to score a free room at the Holiday Inn Express downtown. It was a pretty great location for the cost (nothing!)–it was just a 15 minute walk down to the inner harbor and the Baltimore Soundstage. We headed out to Power Plant Live to grab some dinner before the Less Than Jake / Reel Big Fish concert. We ended up going to Mex’s Tequila bar and took advantage of their happy hour margaritas! Over the course of the dinner, we had 3 margaritas (black cherry, mango and regular flavored) and it only cost $12 for all three. Gotta love happy hour! I had a salad (which was REALLY filling, even without meat) and fiance had a giant burrito. Which he loved. Which we will probably go back and eat every time we’re at Power Plant.

We headed to the show and the venue was PACKED! The announcer said that the show was sold out and it definitely felt that way. We had gone to a concert on Wednesday of the week before and there wasn’t a huge crowd… but that wasn’t the case on Friday night. It was a fantastic show, lots of energy and lots of fun! I love seeing Less Than Jake live… they’ve been my favorite band for over 15 years and I will probably never get sick of them. Even fiance seemed to enjoy it! A few (crappy) shots from the show:

IMG_1600

(So dark, so terrible at picture taking)

IMG_1601

They really are an incredible band.

The fun didn’t stop there! We got up early and ran the Baltimore 10 miler (more on that later) and then hobbled back to our hotel. After a quick rest and shower, we headed to Bristow, VA for the Lady Antebellum concert at the Jiffy Lube Live Amphitheater.

For lunch, we had some boring Olive Garden. But I was craving massive amounts of salad and bread and this place delivered!  We picked up some chairs after lunch and headed to the concert.

Again, it was a great show! I didn’t really care for the first artist (Sam Hunt, I think his name was) but Hunter Hayes was great! The sun finally set and Lady A came to perform. It was so beautiful having all the lighting and stage effect with the dark, outdoor backdrop. It was an awesome show! I recommend seeing them. It was also fiance’s first country concert! YEE HAW!

IMG_1610

And now we are headed off to mass! I hope everyone had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

