Friday Five: Favorite Indoor Workouts

Hello everyone!!!  It’s Friday (and I’m SO READY for a Friday)! We had our final exam today and I’m ready to move on to my program management course.  Mar, Cynthia, and Courtney  have asked fellow bloggers / readers what their favorite indoor workouts are and I’m excited to share my five favorites with you!

DC_linkup

Sooo! Let’s get started!

1. Spinning / Cycling

Ever since I took my first indoor cycling class, I was in love. This workout ALWAYS gets me! No matter who instructs, I am always panting and drenched in sweat by the end of it. Doing this workout is great because it is easy to adjust according to your current fitness level and you get out of it what you put into it!  Even when I was in Iraq and Afghanistan, I would find a cycling class or just do it on my own! I spent months trying to convince the fiance to cycle with me… but he hasn’t agreed yet. YET.

2. Water Jogging

This was a life saver when I had a stress fracture.  Although I felt a little silly when I first started doing the water jogging with my physical therapy class, I gradually learned how to properly execute water jogging and really work to get the most out of it.  One of my favorite ways to do a water jogging workout is to do intervals of fast running and slow jogging.  If you put forth a lot of effort, your heart will be pumping and you will be smoked by the end of it. I have since invested in a waterproof iPod, which makes the workout even BETTER!

3. Running on the Treadmill

Afghanistan has terrible air. REALLY TERRIBLE AIR. This NY Times Article sheds a little light on the air situation. When I was there, I made the decision to spend most of my time running at the gym, on the treadmill. I figured that MAYBE, HOPEFULLY my lungs would be spared, even if just a little. Not sure if it helped, but I did notice that I coughed a lot less when using the treadmill compared to running outside.  Once I got back, the weather in the NE forced me to do a lot of treadmill running as well.  I definitely prefer to run outside, but I have learned to enjoy my treadmill runs by using the iPad to watch TV, mixing up my running routines to keep it interesting, and listening to punk rock on the iPod.  Whatever works, right?

4. Swimming

Fiance was a swimmer in high school and that is still his favorite cardio activity. I try to keep up with him in the pool, but I am definitely not as fast as he is… But I do try. I also love swimming in lakes as well! Swimming is definitely a workout that kills me for days. But it a good way! That’s why it’s in my top five!

5. Tae Bo!

I’m going to bring back time allllll the way back to the late 1990s to discuss my last activity. Although it is a little dated, I cannot break my bond with Billy.  In high school, I inherited a set to VHS tapes (I’m so old) from my aunt and started kicking and punching my way to losing some weight. I continued the trend in college, QUIETLY kicking and punching before class, trying not to wake up my roommate.

tae bo

(Source)

This was my go to workout! It only took me about 45 minutes to complete and would give me energy throughout the day! I actually busted it out over the summer and was hooked once again! I will never get sick of tae bo!

Now, time for me to get ready for “graduation” dinner with my classmates and a quick trip to the airport to get the fiance for the weekend!  We have another race to do and I’m so excited for it!

One thought on “Friday Five: Favorite Indoor Workouts

Leave a Reply

